The Portfolio Committee

Terms of Reference:


  • oversee and guide the development of Unipol’s property portfolio and management operation
  • have first line responsibility for the leasing and any forward arrangements for Unipol’s premises at 155-157 Woodhouse Lane, Leeds
  • review the Health and Safety Policies for Buildings and Staff annually, taking into account an annual report from the Health and Safety Review Board and make recommendations to the Board for the approval of health and safety policies 
  • establish a property management load for the organisation and determine the balance between Unipol’s own portfolio and managed owners
  • oversee Unipol’s marketing strategy in respect of its property and management operations
  • establish the product levels within the Unipol portfolio taking into account:
  • inclusive and non-inclusive pricing
  • utility charging
  • bundling arrangements
  • deposit setting and administration
  • make recommendations to the Financial Affairs and Staffing Committee on pricing throughout the portfolio, allowing for some operational flexibility, within the context of the aims of the Forward Look and the financial strategy set for the organisation


ex officio Deputy Chair - Portfolio (Chair of the Committee):
Mr Andy Welsh

ex officio the Chair of the Health and Safety Review Board: 
Mr Robert Sladdin

1 members to be appointed from Unipol’s Board:
Mr Ian Robertson

4 other members to be appointed by the Board (at least one of which to be a student):
Mr Stewart Moore
Ms Sarah Jones
Ms Jess Carrier

The Chief Executive

The Assistant Chief Executive - Housing

The Assistant Chief Executive - Standards

In Attendance:

The Development Manager
The Housing Manager - Operations
The Housing Manager - Compliance and Logistics

The Chair of the Committee is appointed by Unipol's Board.

All members would be voting members and the Chair would have both an original and, if required, a casting vote.

All members are appointed for three years and nominated members of the Committee (that are not already members of Unipol's Board) are subject to approval by Unipol's Board.

The Committee to meet at least three times a year with the quorum to be 3 voting members.